Capsicum-Matar Masala

capsicum-peasmasala2.jpg

I love Capsicums/Peppers, they readily go into any dish, be it sambhar Or gravy.

Capsicum Sambhar is one among my favorites, many people dont use it in sambhars, well you’ve gotta try it to believe it… This is one partcular gravy which I am very fond of & it just tastes great. Dont go by the looks…just try it, you’ll fall in love & it’ll be your favourite as well. Yum.. This gravy tastes better than aย restaurantย one, do try it & let me know.

Note – Dear blogger friends, I am extremely sorry as I havent been keeping up with you all, I have missed so many of your posts, I apologize, But promise, you will see me soon.ย Please do leave your precious comments. ๐Ÿ™‚

Capsicum Matar Masala

Ingredients –

1 Capsicum

1 Cup Peas

1/2 Tsp Ginger – Garlic Pasteย 

1 Small Onion

1 Medium Tomatoย 

3 – 4 Tbsp Tomato Sauce

1/2 Tsp Red Chilli Powder

1 Tsp Kasuri Methi

2 Pinch Garam Masala

1/2 Tsp Cumin/Jeera

1 Tbsp Oil

1/4 Tsp Turmeric

Salt as per taste

To Grind

4 – 5 Tsp Coconut grated

7-8 Cashewnuts

2 Cloves

2 Cinnamon Pieces

1 Cardamom

Method –

Grind the Coconut along with the other given items to a smooth paste adding water.

Chop Capsicum into 1 inch square pieces.ย  Crush a small piece of ginger with 1 clove of garlic to make the paste.

Chop onion and tomato finely. Dry Roast Kasuri Methi just untilย aromatic(crisp & changes its color).

Heat Oil in a pan/vessel,ย  when hot add the cumin/jeera.

(You can add a little bit butter if you are not calorie conscious to enhance the taste.)

After a few seconds add the finely chopped onion. Saute untill lite brown.

Now add the ginger-garlic paste & further saute for a minute.

Add the chopped tomato,ย stirย & let it cook for a few minutes until disintegrated.ย 

Add the tomato sauce now & fry well for few more minutes.

Add Chilli powder to taste and turmeric as well. Stir well for a minute.

Now add the chopped capsicum & peas. Saute for a couple of minutes.

Add the ground coconut mixture along with a little water & salt. Mix well.

Cook for 5-7 minutes until the gravy thickens and the capsicum is just cooked.

Finally add the Garam Masala Powder & roasted Kasuri Methi, mix well.

After a couple of minutes switch off the heat.

Delicious Capsicum Matar Masala is ready!!! Serve with Roti/Chapatis. Enjoy!!!

27 Responses to “Capsicum-Matar Masala”

  1. Raaga Says:

    Another capsicum lover… nice to have found one ๐Ÿ™‚

    Raaga, Thx, Glad to know u like them as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Roopa Says:

    wow Aruna glad to see you back! the dish looks delicious i too love capsicums ๐Ÿ™‚

    Roopa, Thx dear, Nice to see you here. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Asha Says:

    Great recipe.I have Shahi dish with capsicum today.Love them too.Looks great Aruna,good job:)

    Dear Asha, Thx. Will look forward for ur Shahi Capsicum dish. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. lakshmi Says:

    I love capsicum too!! il try your version sometime and let you know how it comes out.

    Lakshmi, Welcome!! I appreciate u taking time to leave ur precious comments Thx!! I’ll wait for ur verdict. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. TBC Says:

    That’s a good recipe. . Iam always looking for ways to make capsicum tastier as I am not too fond of this veggie.

    Hey TBC Welcome!!! U cannot fail with this dish!!! Do try it & Please let me know!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Jyothi Says:

    Hi Aruna! very happy to see you back with a great recipe. Tomorrow only, I am going to try this. Just love it. Thanks for sharing and give the feedback on my trial of this recipe.

    Dear Jyothi, Thx ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad to see u here. Do try it, I’ll be waiting for ur judgment as well!!!

  7. bee Says:

    looks very appetising indeed. nice picture.

    Bee, Glad to see ur first comment here, I’m glad u liked it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. sharmi Says:

    that looks yummy. very rich and creamy. would love to give a try.

    Sharmi, Thx dear ๐Ÿ™‚ Do try it.

  9. Tee Says:

    This looks so rich and tasty! Nice way to cook capsicum.

    Tee, Welcome to my blog ๐Ÿ™‚ Thx for ur nice words.

  10. archana Says:

    Nice recipe Aruna. Even I like capsicums. Good to see you back ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Arch!!! Nice to see u here ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. bhags Says:

    never have cooked capsicum with coconut masala….ths one looks great…..can try this one

    This is the first time seeing soo many new bloggers!!!

    Bhags, Welcome!!! Yep Capsicum in Coconut masala u read it right…..Do try it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Saju Says:

    Wow, nice combination. The picture looks oh so yummy.

    Saju, Thank U very much ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. prema Says:

    The dish has got a lovely colour Aruna. looking at the pic before reading the title I thought it was mango pickle mistaking the capsicum pieces for mango pieces… was wondering what peas was doing there in a pickle!!!!
    nice recipe..and thanks for sharing.

    Prema, See the picture fooled you ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for sharing ur thoughts.

  14. anusharaji Says:

    we used to order that almost everytime
    masala looks great ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hey Anu, Welcome, Thx for stopping by. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Dee Says:

    looks great aruna, I love the colours

    Dee, Nice to see u here!!! Thx ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Steve Says:

    Oh my goodness. I just found your blog and instantly started drooling! It all looks great, especially the dishes with the glorious heat of capsaicin and curry influences. I need to go eat now.

    Steve, Welcome to my blog & Thx for dropping a line, I’m glad u liked the dish, hope to see u back again… ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Suma Gandlur Says:

    Capsicum sambhar, I have never heard about it.
    This dish seems so delicious with the kasoori methi.

    Suma, Thx ๐Ÿ™‚ do try capsicum in sambhar, u’ll like it.

  18. ramya Says:

    this is great dish Aruna, will try ur way. looking yummy.

    Ramya, Thx ๐Ÿ™‚

  19. lia Says:

    Hi am new here, u have great recipe over here ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Lia, Its wonderful to see u here ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad u liked it, please do come back….

  20. Laavanya Says:

    Aruna, this looks so good, rich and creamy. I wasn’t a big fan of capsicum when I was young but love it now.

    Thx Lavanya!!! Yeah same here, I didnt like it much either, now times r different ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. viji Says:

    Aruna, just need a pulka that’s all. Very yummy. Viji

    You are right abt that!! Thx Viji ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. lathanarasimhan Says:

    Hi aruna,
    First time here. Your site colour is very pleasing. Thanks for visiting my site.

    Your capsicum looks yummy!
    latha.

    Welcome Latha, Glad to see u here!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Padma Says:

    I found another good reason to eat capsicum…I hate to eat them because of it weird smell while cooking…your recipe might eliminate lil bit out of it! Nice pics

    Padma Thx, What better way to get over the weird smell than by cooking it, time to face the demons!!

  24. Zlamushka Says:

    I am new to your site and already liking it. This post particularly looks soooo great, I love it already. Can I use dried coconut flakes though? Same quantity?

    thanx a lot

    Welcome!!! I’m glad u like what u see here ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have used fresh grated cocnut here, but with dry coconut I cant vouch for the taste…
    Give it a try & do let me know the outcome !!!

  25. Asha Says:

    I tried this recipe and it is too good
    I did not have tomato sauce i used tomato ketchup the taste was mind blowing reminded me resturants in bangalore

  26. padmaja Says:

    I never tried capsicum in coconut masala.I like to try new dishes. I woul like to give try.


Leave a comment