Weekend Lunch Plate – 2

wb2.jpg

Our Lunch today was Dondakaya Pappu(Tindora Dal), Rice, Beerakaya Pachadi (Ridge Gourd Chutney),

Dondakaya Vepudu (Tindora Fry) & Taro Root Fry.

The highlight of our lunch was this spicy beerakaya pachadi.

My collegue at work Sangeetha, prepares lipsmacking beerakaya pachadi.

And she graciously offered me the recipe when I asked her.

So here I present Beerkaya Pachadi –

Beerakaya Pachadi

(RidgeGourd Chutney)

Ingredients 

1 RidgeGourd/Beerakaya

3 Green Chilles

2 Garlic Cloves

Cilantro – Handful chopped 

4 Tsp Urad Dal

3/4 Tsp Dhania Seeds

3 Dry Red Chilles

4 Tsp Grated Coconut

1 Tsp Tamarind pieces

Salt as per taste.

Method

Scrape the ridges of the ridge gourd, Dont scrape of the outer green skin elsewhere.

Chop ridge gourd & slit green chilles.

Heat a tsp of oil add urad dal, dhania seeds, red chilles & fry untill golden. Transfer to a bowl.

In the same pan, add 2 – 3 Tsp of oil & add the chopped ridge gourd cubes, green chilles & garlic cloves.

Saute them until ridge gourd gets soft & is half cooked. Add cilantro towards the end.

Remove & set aside to cool.

Grind the roasted spices with grated coconut & tamarind to powder.

Add the ridge gourd pieces to the above & grind well.

Adjust salt as per needed.

beerakaya_pachadi.jpg

23 Responses to “Weekend Lunch Plate – 2”

  1. Trupti Says:

    Looks healthy and wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Asha Says:

    Tasty traditional spread,thanks girl.Enjoy:)

  3. Nalini Says:

    Hi there,
    wow, lunch looks amazing!! I was drooling by the time I finished looking at all the wonderful things in the spread. My mom used to make this ridge gourd pachadi. Looks great.
    Thanks for sharing,
    Nalini

  4. Richa Says:

    hey, the spread looks so good! liked the pachadi recipe.
    thanks

  5. Suganya Says:

    Phew! Wish I cud join you for lunch. Nice spread.

  6. archana Says:

    Liked the dish. Never tasted it before . Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

  7. Roopa Says:

    aruna, wonderfull heerekayi bhaji i love this though i make differently will try this version!

  8. Aruna Says:

    Trupti, Thx for stopping by 🙂

    Asha, U R always welcome 🙂

    Nalini, Thx. 🙂

    Richa, Do try it tastes great with hot rice & a dot of ghee…yummm!!!

    Suganya, Hey u r welcome anytime to join me!!! U have a great blog urself, exceptional pictures.

    Archana, Thx for stoping by, do try it, tastes very nice with rice or even with the dosas u recently blogged about 🙂

  9. Aruna Says:

    Roopa, Try this version, u’ll love it, also I’ll look forward for ur version of the heerekai. Thx.

  10. viji Says:

    Aruna, This looks spicy and the plate is very attractive. Homely meal. Viji

  11. Aruna Says:

    Viji, I have see ur weekend brunch series & this is an inspiration of urs!!! Love ur blog. 🙂

  12. sangeetha Says:

    It is so nice of you to post my recipe in your website and to see beautiful comments about it. This inspires me to contribute some more good ones.

  13. Aruna Says:

    Sangeetha, Thx, please feel free to contribute ur expertise here.

  14. Sharmi Says:

    lovely and yummy lunch. chala baga undhi. My MIL makes this pachadi. I never tried till now. will do it like yours.

  15. Aruna Says:

    Sharmi, Glad u liked it 🙂 Do try it, tastes very yummy!!

  16. mandira Says:

    such a great idea aruna – i love the weekend thali. yummy.

  17. Aruna Says:

    Mandira, Thx dear!!

  18. pallavi Says:

    Aruna , everything looks so good. I am definately going to try some of these. I wud like to know wat is Taro root ..is it topiaca?. I think i can use this receipe for my ekadashi fasts ….. is it oily? .

  19. Aruna Says:

    Pallavi, Thanks 🙂 See more information abt Taro root here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taro.
    Taro soaks up most of the oil, it is not oily, but needs a little bit more oil to fry these, since they are a bit slimy.

  20. Madhavi Says:

    Hi there!all your lunch palates are yummy and appetizing.I feel like coming to your house every weekend just to have delicious food.In btw,just a friendly suggestion,your topic weekend lunch series is very nice.why don’t you think of starting a food event in this name.i wud love to join the event with my lunch plaate everyweekend.plz let me know if you are interested.:)
    Madhavi, Thats sounds like an fantastic idea, Sure will do that I’m excited already !!!! Will try to create a logo for the event as well, so that everyone interested can put up on their blog, so that we get more lunch plates every week!!! yaaay!!! Thx dear. Ur suggestions are welcome, let me know.

  21. Madhavi Says:

    Thanks for doing this Aruna!Iam happy too.plz let me know if you need any help from me.I think you know that there is website called cooltext.com.this website can help you create logo.Iam waiting for the event to start so that I’ll bring my lunch plate to you.:)

    Madhavi, Please chk out the email I sent u 🙂

  22. Madhavi Says:

    plz try the link posted below.It came out really well.http://www3.blibs.com/animation-factory/

  23. Poossysmupe Says:

    Fantastic affair, I did not thought this would be so great when I klicked at the title!!


Leave a Reply

