Weekend Lunch Plate – 4

wb-4.jpg

Thotakura – Mamidakayi Pappu,  Rice, Zucchini Fry, Pachadi and Lotus Root bhajji was our delicious lunch today.

It had been ages since I prepared Thotakura(Dantinasappu in Kannada).

In my quest to eat greens, atleast now & then I cook them.

This pappu turned out delicious!! It was a very satisfying meal.

This is my entry for RCI.

Thotakura-Mamidikaya Pappu

(Amaranth-Green Mango Curry)

Ingredients

1  Cup Toor Dal 

3 Cups Thotakura

1 Cup Green Mango Chopped

3 Green Chilles Slit

1/2 Tsp Red Chilli Powder – or as per taste

1/2 Tsp Turmeric Powder

Salt as per taste

Seasoning

2-3 Tsp Oil

1/2 Tsp Mustard Seeds

2 Green Chilles slit

Curry Leaves

2 Red Chilles

1/4 Tsp Hing

Method 

Wash & chop the Thotakura(Amaranth) Leaves finely.

Green Mango is preferable, Chop Mango along with the skin into small cubes.

In a pressure pan, add 3-4 cups of water and bring it to a boil.

To the water add washed Toor dal, chopped Thotakura, Mango Cubes, Green Chilles slit and Turmeric powder. Stir.

Pressure cook for 2 whistles & let it simmer for a few minutes & remove.

Once the pressure cooker cools, mash the ingredients. And again keep it on medium flame.

Heat oil in a pan for seasoning, add mustard seeds, when pops, add the green chilles & curry leaves.

Then add dry red chilli broken into 2-3 pieces. Add hing, stir & add this to the cooked dal.

Add salt & Red chilli powder, stir everything.

Simmer for 5-7 minutes.

Delicious pappu is ready enjoy!!!!

thotakura-mamidikaya-pappu.jpg

20 Responses to “Weekend Lunch Plate – 4”

  1. Suma Gandlur Says:

    That is a delicious plate. My MIL makes this pappu and I miss it very much here. Great entry.

    Thanks Suma, U can get thotakura in the asian markets, do try it 🙂

  2. Sukanya Says:

    Hay this is a deicious feast…….All the recipes are looking YUM!…I love them all…

    Thx Sukanya, Glad u liked them 🙂

  3. Pavani Says:

    Wow.. that looks delicious. Thotakura mamidikaya pappu sounds nutritious and yummy. Thanks for sharing.

    Pavani, Indeed its nutritious & healthy. Thx 🙂

  4. Madhavi Says:

    hi!your lunch palate looks very appetizing.i wish i was in your house for lunch the day u made this.i too make thotakura pappu with mango.i also like it.
    Madhavi

    Madhavi 🙂 U r sooo welcome, just drop in & I’ll cook it for ya 🙂

  5. archana Says:

    Aruna, the lunch plate is looking yum. I have never tasted the dishes but recipes are good 🙂

    Archana, Thx u sooo much 🙂

  6. Viji Says:

    A nice spread Aruna. Viji

    Thx Viji 🙂

  7. asha Says:

    Aruna,that plate looks delicious.Love the photo too.Thanks for the recipes:))

    Asha, I was wondering where u were 🙂 Thank U 🙂

  8. Seena Says:

    Very tasty dishes! would love to come there..

    Seena, U r welcome to join me 🙂

  9. mandira Says:

    the thali is definitely drool worthy! I love the presentation and everything on the thali 🙂

    Mandira, Thx, glad u like what u see 🙂

  10. Richa Says:

    wow! such a healthy and yummy meal liked ur gobi matar masala as well!

    Richa, Glad u liked it. Thx for letting me know 🙂

  11. kribha Says:

    You always make my stomach rumble when I see you weekend lunch plate. Looks so delicious and healthy. I’ve never used mango with amaranth. I’d love to try it soon. Hey, I was wondering if you could post the recipe of that pachadi too.

    Kribha, Try the pappu, it tastes great 🙂 Sure will post the recipe of pachadi soon.

  12. prajusha Says:

    hi Aruna, ur lunch plate looks yummy yummy .thanks for the recipe

    Prajusha, Welcome!!! Thx 🙂

  13. Jyothi Says:

    Hmmm…yummy dishes Aruna, wanna to take your meal plate….

    Jyothi, Sure, u r welcome to have it 🙂

  14. sangeetha Says:

    Plate looks so colorful and tasty Hmmmmmmmm…. . I will try pappu recipe.

    Thx Sangeetha, Do try it, u’ll like it

  15. Sharmi Says:

    I wanted to know about the lotus root recipe and the pachadi. waiting for it. will you be posting?

    Sharmi, Will post more abt Lotus root in another post, did u try Beerakaya Pachadi, I have posted earlier, its tastes awesome!!.

  16. Deepa Says:

    yummy colorful plate…nice one…

    Thx Deepa 🙂

  17. prema Says:

    pappu looks good Aruna.. have never tried with green mango. I have got frozen lotus stems with me.. didn’t know what to do with it. ur idea of bhaji looks good. did it taste good?

    Prema, I too tried the bajjis with the frozen lotus root. Just add more spices, since lotus root as it is, is very bland & has no taste of its own. It tasted alright… 🙂

  18. Srivalli Says:

    Aruna, your blog looks real great. Nice theme you have on Weekend specials. Its the same at our place but it never struck me to have a theme on that. Good job.

    Srivalli, Welcome!! Thx for ur nice words, I greatly appreciate. Fellow food blogger Madhavi has suggested to me to start a weekly event on this theme. I dont know how many would be interested in partcipating. If I get few responses for fellow bloggers if they would be interested I may start!!!

  19. aruna Says:

    Aruna,
    Your comment on weekenly event on this theme sounds great!! why dont you start !! I would love to participate.
    My blog is :http://arunasanthapeta.blogspot.com/.

    Aruna, there are soo many food events so wasnt sure if any bloggers would be interested in this event so I am debating.
    Glad to know u are interested. Thx.

  20. gowri Says:

    hi,
    your weekend lunch plate looks so yummy. Mamidikaya pappu is one of my favourite dish. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

