Vegetable Baath

veg-pulao3.jpg

Dear Dad, Happy Fathers Day  🙂

Hello, This week instead of my Lunch Plate I bring to you my favourite Vegetable Baath/Pulao.

We South Indians, particularly Kannadigas make variety of Baath’s with anything you can imagine with 🙂

Tomato Baath, Veg Baath, Vangi Baath, BisiBeleBaath etc etc…

A am a big fan of Baath & can live on them for days, unlike DH who doesnt like them for more than one meal in a month.

It  is a perfect dish to empty out the veggies in the fridge 🙂

This one pot dish tastes heavenly with a raitha.

Anyways, here is my favourite & delicious Vegetable Baath, folks do try it.!!! 

This is my first ever entry for Nupur’s A-Z Vegetables.

V For Vegetable Baath

Ingredients :

2 Cups Basmati Rice

2 Cups Mixed Veggies

          (Green Beans, Peas, Carrots & Few Cauliflower Florets)

1 Large Onion

1/2 Tsp Jeera/ Cumin Seeds

10-12 Cashewnuts (Optional)

1/2-3/4 Tsp Red Chilli Powder

2 Bay Leaves

2 Cloves, 2 Cinnamon Sticks 

1/2 Tsp Turmeric Powder

4 Tbsp Oil/Ghee

Salt to Taste

Grind To a Smooth Paste:

1/2 Medium Onion – Sliced

1 Medium Tomato – Sliced

1/4-1/2 Cup Coconut Grated

1 Tsp Roasted Poppy seeds

2 Jalepenos

6 Green Chilles

3-4 Garlic Cloves

1-2″ Ginger

2 Cloves

2″ Cinnamon

2 Cardamom

1/2 Bunch Coriander Leaves

Method :

Wash & chop veggies, I used less of cauliflower, because I didnt want its smell to dominate the Baath.

Veggies can be used in any proportions, also any other desired veggies could be added depending on your liking.

I used Jalepenos & Green Chilles, but you can just use Green chilles itself, just increase the quantity.

Slice the onion lengthwise thinly.  Wash & soak the Basmati Rice in plenty of water.

Heat Oil/Ghee in a wide pan. Adding a little bit more oil adds to the taste & texture of this dish.

(If oil is reduced, the baath turns out very dry, so be liberal with oil here.)

When the oil gets hot add the Bay Leaf, Cloves &  Cinamon.

When it tends to get brown, add the Jeera  & Cashewnuts if using.

When the jeera splutters add the sliced onions. Saute until transparent.

Add the mixed veggies & saute for a few minutes.

Now drain the rice & keep aside.

Add the smoothly ground masala paste. Saute until the oil separates.

Add the Red chilli powder to taste, fry for 2-3 minutes.

Add the drained rice & fry well for a couple of minutes.

Add 3 & 1/2 Cups of water to the above , add salt to taste & stir well.

When the mixture starts to boil, mix once again & close the pan & reduce the flame to simmer.

After 20 minutes, turn off the flame.  Let the pan cool well before serving. Enjoy!!! 

32 Responses to “Vegetable Baath”

  1. Seena Says:

    Liked this one Aruna, emptying fridge and eating a delcious dish, nice idea, girl!

    Seena Thx dear. Do Try it. 🙂

  2. Jyothi Says:

    Hi Aruna! really looks delicious and yummy. I love this type of rice dish very much. Next time surely I will try your version. Thanks for sharing. Happy weekend and enjoy….

    Jyothi, Thx. Do let me know how it turned out. Have a nice wkend. 🙂

  3. ruchii Says:

    Hi Aruna,
    Vegetable baath looks perfect, very simple recipe…..
    Thanks for the recipe. Have a nice weekend.

    Hi Madhu, Thx 🙂

  4. trupti Says:

    that is such a colorful dish..who wouldn’t want to eat it?
    🙂
    trupti

    Trupti 🙂 Thx. U r right 🙂

  5. Asha Says:

    You don’t have to tell me try ,I WILL!:D
    Of course,Kannadigas love all these Bhaat.My “V” dish is coming too at Aroma this week.
    You can send this to Nupur for letter V and to me “Karnataka cuisine” hostess in Sept!:))
    Lloks fabulous,thanks.My hubby will eat this everyday!;D

    Asha, I know I dont have to tell u to try 🙂 do let me know how u liked it. Hope Arvind enjoys it.
    I will definately send it to Nupur A-Z & to u as well. Waiting for September.
    🙂

  6. viji Says:

    Looks perfect Aruna. One pot meal is always delicious and you can eat just like that. Viji

    Viji, Thx 🙂 U r right I can eat them anytime. 🙂

  7. Richa Says:

    pulav looks so nice, such a pretty color! i too have a liking for all kinds of pulav and it is amazing how everyone has a different recipe for it!

    Richa, Thx 🙂 yea , I bet there r numerous ways of preparing it.

  8. Dilip Says:

    great dish…looks lovely…thanks for sharing

    Dilip, Welcome!!! Thx for stopping by.

  9. archana Says:

    Oh I like rice dishes . It is looking so yummy. Even I can survive on these baath dishes, I luv them so much:)

    Archana, Rice dishes are many ppl’s favourite, no doubt!! Thx. 🙂

  10. prema Says:

    Its a delight Aruna.. love its colour. I prepare a bit different and would be happy to try urs sometime. thanks for sharing.

    Thx Prema, Glad u like it 🙂 Do try & let me know.

  11. ramya Says:

    Nice dish aruna,name sounds different i can try this weekend.Presentation is too good

    Thanks Ramya, Do let me know how urs turned out. 🙂

  12. sharmi Says:

    I could smell the biriyani here. looks awesome. nice presentation. treat to the eye.

    Sharmi, Thx 🙂 It is indeed a treat to the eye & mouth. 🙂

  13. sangeetha Says:

    Baath looks so Yummy. It makes me feel hungry . Nice picture

    Sangeetha, Thx. Sorry to make u hungry tho!! Glad u liked the pic!! 🙂

  14. usha Says:

    Hi Aruna,
    Veg.Bhath looks delicious with colourful veggies…Its rich too..Nice presentation.

    Hello Usha, Yes it does taste delicious, do try it. 🙂

  15. aruna Says:

    Hi Aruna,
    Beautiful looking dish i am sure it will taste yummy as well.
    You left comment in my blog to check out your weekend plate. Eventhough i used to visit your blog now and then before, after looking at your weekend lunch plates, i am amazed at the effort and beautiful blogs you have there! Wonderful work Aruna!

    Aruna, Thx for ur very nice words. 🙂

  16. Just for fun Says:

    Veg.bhath looks absolutely delicious. Lovely I like it Aruna 🙂

    Jasu, Thx. Glad U liked it. 🙂

  17. Deepa Says:

    veg bath loooks yummy lady …very nice pic ….it must have tasted great ….mouth watering

    Deepa,Thx Girl!! It sure did taste great!!!! 🙂

  18. Nupur Says:

    With those tasty chunks of vegetables, it looks so colorful and delicious! Thanks for a great entry!

    Nupur, Thanks 🙂 A-Z Series Rocks!!!

  19. Hima Says:

    That is looking cool. I want to make it right away and have it. I started getting the craving for it.

    Thx Hima, Do try it let me know how u liked it. 🙂

  20. Lakshmi Says:

    Arunavare, Pulav bomabtagi kantha ide. Presentation is also good.

    Lakshmi, Nimage ishta aythu antha keli, nange bahala kushi aythu, omme try maadi. 🙂

  21. sharmi Says:

    hey honey are you on a break ?

    Hi Sharmi, Thx for asking, yes have been tied down with too much, will be back very shortly… 🙂

  22. Raaga Says:

    Looks yummy 🙂

    Thx Raaga 🙂

  23. srivalli Says:

    still on hols???…well get back soon…

    Srivalli
    http://www.cooking4allseasons.blogspot.com

    Thx for checking on me, no such luck being on hols 😦 I’m bk at last!!! what can I say except “been busy” 🙂

  24. Jyothi Says:

    hi aruna! one surprised news….I saw yours vegetable baath recipe photo in some other’s blog. Just check this link. I think they have stolen your photo. Just check once. Here is the link :
    http://indianvegrecipe.blogspot.com/2007/10/veg-pulav.html. This is for your information. Take care.

    Hi Jyothi, Sorry I was busy & had not opened the blog for a few weeks now…Thx for letting me know!!!

  25. Nithya Says:

    Awesome Veg.Bhath.But I have a question?How do you make it very dry.Whenever I cook Biryani or Veg.rice it becomes soggy.Please advice.

  26. LavanyaGopalakrishnan Says:

    Hi,

    Thanks a lot for giving us the receipe….
    I invited my african friends and served them this recipe…
    They like it very much….

  27. Ratna Says:

    This was the BEST tasting biryani i’ve ever made…my husband enjoyed it very very much!….and I did too…I made a fusion dish of thai tom yam fish varuval, with raita……truly a bomb!thank u so much!

  28. Ratna Says:

    hi aruna,
    I tried this recipe at home, and I must thank you a million times because he truly loved it! I was a little skeptical about the ground ingredients, upon getting a whiff of the paste, I knew that the dish was going to be a hit! thank u so much..it was exquisitely delicious!

    • Aruna Says:

      Ratna, I am very happy to hear thatt the Vegbaath was loved by ur family, Thanks soo much for letting me know, it makes my day!!!

  29. Niveditha Says:

    superb

  30. cheapest re mortgage Says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks


Leave a Reply

